Five Things You Didn’t Know About Me

1. I will eat all fruit peels. I don’t know if it’s from an overzealousness for Bear Grylls, but I’m convinced that all fruit peels and skins are healthy and full of, as Bear says, “veet-tah-minhs”. Orange peels, banana peels, watermelon rines, and even those strawberry stems are all fair game. Pineapples, however, are excluded.

One of these, you don’t eat the outside.

2. I can come up with some really stupid diet plans. During college, one of my healthy-diet crazes included eating vegetable curry for every meal over the course of a month. I cooked all the curry and filled a whole large kimchee jar and for each breakfast, lunch, and dinner, I would partake from what would eventually transform into a brown goop. From this experience, I also learned a trick to counter your cravings for sweets. One week, I had a huge craving for cheesecake. My hypothesis is that your enjoyment of food only comes from what you taste in your mouth before you swallow. Everything you swallow feels to same to you, right? If you eat fried chicken or a bowl of vegetables, they both feel the same after you swallow. So with that knowledge, I attempted to counter my cravings for cheesecake, but also maintain my healthy diet, by putting a piece of cheesecake in my mouth, allowing my tastebuds to enjoy the rich delicious taste but then quickly spitting it out and rinsing my mouth. Needless to say, a very good cheesecake was wasted down the drain.

Curry isn’t very good after the 40th meal.

3. I am really into fantasy novels. When I was in middle school and high school, I loved reading books from The Forgotten Realms series and The DragonLance series. My favorite author is R.A. Salvatore. He wrote great books, his most popular about a dark elf named Drizzt Do’urden. Drizzt kicked major butt. He carried two scimitars who he named Icingdeath and Twinkle. He also had a stone that, when needed, would turn into a panther named Guenhwyvar. Drizzt would totally own Harry Potter. But really, I’m not a nerd.

Drizzt > Harry Potter.

4. I love yoga. Yoga has to be one of my favorite ways to exercise. Nothing has taught me how weak and unflexible I am more than when I started to take yoga. It is honestly a great way to build up your core strength and really fun. Try it out.

The downward dog pose. Hurts a lot pose.

5. I really like interior design and Bravo’s Top Design. One of my favorite things to do when I was little was to rearrange my room. This allowed me to be creative with the placement of my furniture, wall hangings, and acessories. I think I rearranged my room once a month. The one thing that I’ve enjoyed the most doing when I moved from San Diego, was being able to organize my room. So far, my favorite project has been making my own bulletin boards. I always wanted a corkboard for my room to post up notes and pictures. I went to OfficeDepot and saw that they were ridiculously expensive. The size I was looking for was priced at $40. So, I decided to construct my own. I went over to a supply store and bought myself a large roll of cork which costed me $8. I mounted the cork onto cardboard that I had lying around at home. I then found some nice antique looking picture frames from the local Goodwill Thrift store for $6 each. I then glued the corkboards I made into the frames and the finished product, I think, looks quite good. Plus it only costed me $20 to make both of them.

 

My finished project.

8 Responses to “Five Things You Didn’t Know About Me”

  1. cathiekimn Says:

    The fruit peels thing is kind of gross. Banana peels? Gross.
    And the curry thing is really gross too.
    The corkboard, though, is really cool :]

  2. Yonadan Pak Says:

    You’re left handed?

  3. tia Says:

    I like fruit peels, too. But not oranges and bananas!

    Do you eat cantaloupe peel, too??

  4. cindy Says:

    PINEAPPLE PEEL. or DURIAN PEEL

  5. Moon Choi Says:

    Lol durian peel.

  6. Wury Says:

    Hahah, you eating fruit peels. Such a weirdo… Like the corkboards though.

  7. tia Says:

    TIME TO UPDATE!!!

  8. jennifer lee Says:

    i didn’t know you had a blog!

    and i don’t think you’re left-handed.

Leave a Reply

